Crashes and Fat Balls

Sometimes it takes colliding with big, scary mountains to realize that our daily challenges are merely molehills.  Today, it took me crashing into a 1998 tan Buick to notice that rolling out of bed in the morning to silence my alarm is more of a blessing than a repetitive and volume-increasing curse.

Insert classic cheesy mountain photo. Taken in Colombia, Summer 2012.

I will admit that sometimes I see a yellow light and gun it, but this wasn’t one of those occasions.  My brain went on autopilot as I was simply sipping my warm mint green tea, listening to music, and chatting with my friend on our way to yoga. I didn’t even realize we were going through an intersection until my friend gasped and my tea was suddenly all over her pink tank top–until the crash and the shattering of glass and the leaking of strange-colored fluids from the front of my dad’s trusty ’95 Jeep Cherokee.

All I can think about is timing.  Two seconds earlier and I would have cleared the light, we would have sweated off two pounds in hot yoga, and I would have gone home to fall asleep on the couch watching ESPN.  Two seconds later, and I could have killed both my friend and the driver of the Buick and spent the rest of my life with insomnia-inducing nightmares and outrageous insurance rates.  To keep it real, our moment of impact was perfect: enough to scare the living daylights out of me, yet not serious enough to cause any injuries (unless you count totaling the other driver’s car…)

Sometimes it’s hard to find the silver lining in a mess of phone calls, insurance fees, and tears.  It was surprisingly easy to drop the F-bomb like it was hot in front of my mom for the first time in my life and chug the rest of my gross cold tea like it was the last liquid form on Earth.  But I’m coming to terms with my silver lining.  Shit happens. Some people pay full price for mistakes, and others are blessed with second chances.  At the end of the day, I step away as one of the lucky ones with a second chance.  Adios tea-drinking and driving days–I can happily say my travel time to anywhere and everywhere will be reduced due to fewer stops for hygienically sub-par restrooms.

Let’s face it: I’m in a mess, but I’m not embarrassed to say that I’m thankful.  I’m thankful for my family who came from three different directions to find me and for my friend who insisted that everything was going to be fine. I’m thankful for my teenage brother who skipped breakfast and brushing his teeth to drive fifteen minutes to just come sit next to me on the side of the road, and for the random stranger who smiled and awkwardly told me it ‘wouldn’t be my last ticket.’  (So comforting, right?) I’m thankful for close calls that inspire caution and gratefulness, and I’m thankful for second chances.

See how I made it a stoplight? #lolzapalooza. A sense of humor is good, right?

And I’m thankful for these “Fat Balls.”  Yea, I will also admit that my brothers talked me into dropping my diet “healthy lifestyle” for the day and making them this simple Oreo-Truffle-ish dessert.  They’re rich, creamy, sugary, and not exactly guilt free. Warning: Save for a special occasion.

Fat Balls

Ingredients: 1 package Oreos (whichever style you’re in the mood for), 1 package 1/3 reduced fat cream cheese, white chocolate for dipping, sprinkles (optional)

Directions:

  1. Put Oreos in one large Ziploc. Then put this bag in another Ziploc so there is no spillage.  Crush Oreos until they are very fine.
  2. Mix crushed Oreos with package of Cream Cheese
  3. Roll batter into small balls and refrigerate for 1 hour.
  4. Melt chocolate and dip balls in chocolate.
  5. Chill for approx. 1 hour in refrigerator (it might be hard to wait, but trust me, these babies are 10x better after they have set).
About sayre1311

I'm a simple southern girl. Thanks to my culinarily-talented family, I've nurtured an addiction to cheese grits and biscuits, and I know that butter is the key to heaven on earth (or at least in the kitchen). I'm a loud and proud Girl Raised In The South headed to college in the Green Mountain State in the fall, and this blog is dedicated to chronicling my culinary journey and capturing the endless adventures that are sure to accompany it.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

