Spring Break Pound Cake

Blueberry Pound Cake with a Dash of Vanilla

People power past in suits and shiny shoes carrying black briefcases while talking to what seems like the air, but is actually the small blinking blue chip attached to their ear.  Others saunter by in groups; men sport printed button-downs, women have large sunglasses on the top of their head, and kids don their new “Hawaii Girl” t-shirts on top of their red-tinted and over-exposed sun kissed skin.  The beeping of the small white cart carrying elderly people semi-successfully pushes families out of the way, while that occasional person opts to sit face forward in the comfortable chair and gets a massage at the Asian Spa randomly located in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Terminal B.

Before and After

The high school girl sitting next to me at the gate has recounted the events of her recent trip to Africa on the phone…twice (once to her mother, and once to her father).  I could now tell you about her adventures riding an ostrich, teaching English at an orphanage, or even about her abhorrent Bandaid tan on her right index finger–but I won’t bore you with the details.

Topped off with a lemon glaze

Another woman passes me, and there is no doubt that this chick is from Vermont.  Amidst the power-walking businessmen, she strides more slowly through the terminal.  Two long French braids start at the top of her head and fall almost all the way down to her stomach.  Her tie-dye shirt, gypsy pants, and woven purse draped across her shoulder all add to her hippie ambiance.  Not to be stereotypical or anything, but she’s probably a maple syrup snob, gets great deals on Cabot cheese, and lives within biking distance of the Ben & Jerry’s Factory.

The First Piece (going to the Birthday Boy!)

When I finally board the plane, I am greeted by a scent that reminds me of poor-quality grits, a retirement home, and burnt coffee.  At least it’s only an hour-long flight…On this plane ride down to North Carolina, my seemingly organized college freshman self crafts two organized, colorful, and ambitious Spring Break to-do lists.  One list consists of items like “Spanish reading,” “English revisions,” and “Review for Political Science Midterm,” while the other list includes tasks like, “Get Pedicure,” “Play Soccer,” and “Work Ahead on Tan.”

Pound Cake Gone Birthday Cake

With the true intention of checking off boxes on both of these lists that I made last week, unfortunately some of my Spring Break goals were mutually exclusive.  Sometimes schoolwork was sacrificed for sleeping, eating, and obsessively checking my March Madness bracket status.

Feliz Cumpleaños Time

Despite my lack of productive academic work over break, I have no regrets.  If I hadn’t left some (read: lots of) work to do, what else would I have done all day while traversing various airports on my way back to Midd?  Don’t worry, I continued to procrastinate with my hobby of people-watching.  After I took my seat on the plane from Philadelphia to Burlington on the way back to school, I began to fine-tune this people-watching skill.  The students returning from break all failed to blend in.  The consistent backpack on the back and text in hand bookmarked with a pen revealed a universal neglect of reading over the spring term recess.  And if you hadn’t guessed already, here I am on the final day of Spring Break with newly painted orange toenails, a little bit more color in my cheeks, and about eight books stacked in front of me waiting to be opened.  I fit right in.

Yes, I got this piece of cake to stand up straight.

I may not have gotten ahead in my classes for the coming week over Spring Break, but I did manage to bake a delectable blueberry pound cake in honor of my grandfather’s 84th birthday yesterday.  So here’s to putting down the books, grabbing some berries, and the beautiful Carolina spring weather! Enjoy.

Serves as dessert, as well as perfect breakfast.

Blueberry Pound Cake

 Source: Cooking Light

Yield: 16 servings

Ingredients: 2 cups granulated sugar, ½ cup light butter, ½ cup (4 oz) 1/3-less-fat cream cheese (softened), 3 large eggs, 1 large egg white, 3 cups all-purpose flour (divided), 2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries, 1 tsp baking powder, ½ tsp baking soda, ½ tsp salt, 1 (8 oz) carton lemon low-fat yogurt, 2 tsp vanilla extract, cooking spray, ½ cup powdered sugar, 4 tsp lemon juice

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350ºF.
  2. Beat first three ingredients at medium speed of a mixer until well-blended (about 5 minutes).
  3. Add eggs and egg white, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition.
  4. Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife.
  5. Combine 2 tablespoons flour and blueberries in a small bowl and toss well.
  6. Combine remaining flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in separate bowl.
  7. Add the flour mixture to the sugar mixture alternately with yogurt, beginning and ending with flour mixture.
  8. Fold in blueberry mixture and vanilla.
  9. Pour cake batter into a 10-inch tube pan coated with cooking spray.
  10.  Bake at 350º for 1 hour and 10 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.
  11.  Cool cake in pan for 10 minutes; remove from pan.
  12. Lightly spoon powdered sugar into a dry measuring cup; level with a knife.
  13. Combine with lemon juice in a bowl; drizzle over warm cake. Cut with a serrated knife.

Notes: Tossing the blueberries with flour helps to suspend them in the cake.

Nutritional Information: 287 calories (19% from fat); 6.2g fat; 5.7g protein; 53.9g carb; 1.5g fiber; 57mg chol; 227mg sodium

Nothing to do with the pound cake, but happy-dog Wonka licking the marinade off of the platter of venison burgers.

About sayre1311

I'm a simple southern girl. Thanks to my culinarily-talented family, I've nurtured an addiction to cheese grits and biscuits, and I know that butter is the key to heaven on earth (or at least in the kitchen). I'm a loud and proud Girl Raised In The South headed to college in the Green Mountain State in the fall, and this blog is dedicated to chronicling my culinary journey and capturing the endless adventures that are sure to accompany it.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

