Sunday-Smoothies: Weir So 90s.

When I was younger, I used to wake up early on Sunday mornings and eagerly hop into my dad’s silver Oldsmobile.  (This was back in the stage of my life when my internal alarm clock would chime at 8 AM…) Occasionally my brothers would accompany my dad and me on our weekly pilgrimage to Cashion’s Gas station to pick up our beloved supply of Krispy Kreme doughnuts.  The three of us would squeeze into the back seat and pettily squabble about whose turn it was to sit in the middle.

Fruit Basket Smoothie

My brothers would tease me about the myriad of dots on the felt ceiling, where I had gone on a poking rampage with my very first purple princess umbrella.  Sometimes I wonder whether the Oldsmobile still has those indentations on the ceiling, wherever it is.  The teasing would come to a halt the second we pulled into the gas station.  We used to scurry out of the car with more energy than the other early-Sunday morning gas station-goers, and dash straight to the bright green, case of Krispy Kreme doughnuts strategically stationed in the store.  I always carefully placed two regular glazed doughnuts in our box, the boys would each sloppily add a couple of chocolate glazed with sprinkles, and my dad would finish the box with some crème-filled pastries and another doughnut to take home for my mother.

oh yes colorful umbrella straws

Banana Peanut Butter Smoothie

The sugary smell of warm doughnuts always made the two-mile drive back to the yellow house with green shutters seem longer than the ride to Cashion’s.   We would enthusiastically prance through the garage and into our kitchen, where the blender would be awaiting our arrival.  The only adequate accompaniment to a Krispy Kreme doughnut was (and always will be) a homemade Sunday-morning smoothie.  Our Sunday-morning smoothie flavors varied depending on the contents of the Weir-Family refrigerator, and what fruits were on the verge of going bad in the fruit bowl (yet were still somewhat edible).  Sometimes we concocted strawberry-yogurt-banana smoothies, while other times we would experiment with blueberries and orange juice.  A splash of orange juice was always the secret to achieving the slightest bit of necessary tang in any smoothie.

And then would arrive the moment that the three of us kids had all been waiting for since the weekend prior.  We would clumsily set the table and retrieve our doughnuts from the box and our smoothies from the kitchen counter.  We sat in the same seats around our rectangular breakfast table and used the same Vera Bradley printed placemats every Sunday morning.  We said a quick prayer before slurping down our smoothies and daintily demolishing our doughnuts.  After all–it was Sunday morning.  Looks of satisfaction (or the occasional polite repulsion of an unfortunate smoothie experimentation) would permeate our faces as we quickly ate our breakfast.  And, yes, we could easily gulf down our doughnuts and finish our smoothies in five minutes flat.  As it still is, it would be a scramble to throw on our Sunday dresses and tie our spiffy shoes, yet we (almost) always managed to make it to Sunday school by 9:45 AM.

bubbles bubbles

Banana Peanut Butter--extra peanut butter please.

In the spirit of doughnuts and smoothies, I tried out a couple of smoothie recipes this weekend.  Although they were not nearly as scrumptious or sentimental as my family’s Sunday-morning smoothies, these two recipes were quick, easy, and satisfying amidst the southern heat.  Adding umbrella straws also got me in the summery mood. Check ‘em out:

Fruit Basket Smoothie

  • Source: Seventeen
  • Total Time: 5 minutes
  • Yield: 1 smoothie
  • Ingredients: ½ banana, 1 cup strawberries, ¾ cup skim milk, 3 ice cubes
  • Directions: In blender, combine banana, strawberries, milk, and ice.  Blend until mixture is smooth.
  • Nutrition: About 168 calories, 8 g protein, 1 g total fat, 5 g fiber
  • *After making this smoothie, I would add a splash of orange juice to give this smoothie a little more flava-flav, and some extra ice to make it chillier.
hello strawberry satisfaction.

I recommend adding some orange juice to the recipe to give it extra flavor.

Banana Peanut Butter Smoothie

  • Source: Good Housekeeping
  • Total Time: 5 minutes
  • Yield: 1 smoothie
  • Ingredients: 1 small ripe banana cut in half, ½ cup low-fat milk, 1 tsp creamy peanut butter, 3 ice cubes
  • Directions: In blender, combine banana, milk, peanut butter, and ice.  Blend until mixture is smooth and frothy.
  • Nutrition: About 165 calories, 6 g protein, 4 g total fat (2 g saturated), 2 g fiber
  • *For this one, I would add some extra peanut butter because I’m a peanut butter addict, and I would add more ice cubes to raise the chill factor.
orange you glad i didn't say banana?

If you like peanut butter, consider using a tablespoon instead of a teaspoon of the magical goodness.

Now pop open an umbrella straw, garnish your smoothie with a pretty fruit, throw your feet back, and lounge outside enjoying the arrival of warm weather.  Enjoy!

About sayre1311

I'm a simple southern girl. Thanks to my culinarily-talented family, I've nurtured an addiction to cheese grits and biscuits, and I know that butter is the key to heaven on earth (or at least in the kitchen). I'm a loud and proud Girl Raised In The South headed to college in the Green Mountain State in the fall, and this blog is dedicated to chronicling my culinary journey and capturing the endless adventures that are sure to accompany it.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sunday-Smoothies: Weir So 90s.

  1. Sophia Spach says:

    Mmm, those strawberries look so refreshing! I bet these smoothies would be wonderful on a hot summer’s day or heck, they would be wonderful on a rainy day too.

  2. Alexa Adams says:

    I’m ALL OVER those Banana Peanut Butter Smoothies. I’m tellin my mamma to whip those up tomorrow mornin! Great pics!

  3. mark says:

    Great article and recipes, you go GRITS!!!

Leave a Reply

