The Weir-Brownie Conundrum

The Weir-Brownie: Mmhm so Magical

So I have this problem.  I call it the Weir Brownie Conundrum.  Ever since I was a wee-tot, my mother has nurtured within me a love for her homemade York Peppermint Patty Sensational Brownies.  Since that title is a mouthful, I’ll refer to the beauteous brownie simply as the Weir Brownie.  You might be wondering, now what is the problem with that? The problem is that I am now a complete brownie snob and am incredibly biased when it comes to the art of brownie consumption. No brownie that I have eaten has ever compared to the Weir Brownie.  No way; not a chance.  For better or for worse (better for my health, worse for my palate), I now steer clear of brownies unless I know that they have come straight from the source of all that is good in this world, aka my mother’s ragged, tattered, ripped, but loved cookbook from the 80’s.

Arrange your peppermint patties in a 6x4 formation to maximize tastiness.

I’m headed to France in a couple of hours with my school, but I want to share the love before I go.  Right now it’s 11:32 AM, and my teenage brother is STILL asleep.  I can’t wait to see his face transform from the “kind-of-still asleep” expression to the typical teenage boy’s “OMG there are brownies about to hit my taste buds for lunch” expression.  So even though I have many more songs to download on my iPod, a couple more Ziploc baggies to seal, and a handful of zippers to finally zip up for my trip to Paris, I took a 35 minute break to concoct a batch of the magical Weir Brownies.  (I think magical is the most accurate word to describe them. Can someone who has tasted them attest to this claim?).

Note the white glob of wonderfulness in the center of the brownie

Here’s what you need and what you should do if you want to taste a little bit of heaven today…

Ingredients:

  • 3 sticks butter/margarine, melted
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1 tbl vanilla extract
  • 5 eggs
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 cup cocoa
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 24+ small York Peppermint Patties

Directions: Heat oven to 350º (if glass pan, 325º). Grease 13x9x2 baking pan.  In large bowl with spoon or whisk, stir together butter, sugar, and vanilla.  Add eggs (extra points if you compost your shells) stir until well-blended. Stir in flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt.  Blend well.  Pour approximately half of the batter into the baking pan (save about 2 cups).  Arrange peppermint patties in single layer (about 6 columns and 4 rows) on top of the batter.  Spread remaining batter over patties, gently.  Bake 50-55 minutes or until brownies begin to pull away from sides of pan.  Cool completely.  Cut into squares. 

Source: Amy Weir’s ragged, tattered, ripped, and loved cookbook.

So whip up these brownies for someone you love whether that be for your family, your friends, or yourself.  (As long as it’s not your dog, because chocolate is baaaad for dogs).  After taking the first bite of your Weir Brownie, hopefully you will comprehend the ineffable magic that I am attempting to describe.  The mint in the middle mixes quite musically with its moist and warm chocolate surroundings.  Oh southern comfort, you ROCK.  As a side note, Bradford just woke up in a state of confusion and utter bliss seeing the brownies in the oven.  So now I’m off to zip up those final zippers for France and eat another brownie.  I’m anticipating some tres incroyable food-culture experiences in the coming week, so stay tuned to hear the stories.  Au revoir!

Au Revoir Brownies, Bonjour Crepes!

About sayre1311

I'm a simple southern girl. Thanks to my culinarily-talented family, I've nurtured an addiction to cheese grits and biscuits, and I know that butter is the key to heaven on earth (or at least in the kitchen). I'm a loud and proud Girl Raised In The South headed to college in the Green Mountain State in the fall, and this blog is dedicated to chronicling my culinary journey and capturing the endless adventures that are sure to accompany it.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Weir-Brownie Conundrum

  1. Great post, Sayre, and those brownies look aaa-mazing. Have a ball in France!

  2. Recipe Chefs says:

    Excellent post thanks for sharing. Food is something I can enjoy all around. If I’m not eating it. I’m reading and looking at pictures about it.

    Rise n Shine Eggs – Breakfast Recipe

  3. I can attest to the magic of York Peppermint Patty Sensational Brownies. They are beyond delicious. The only reason I don’t make them regularly is that Elise doesn’t like Peppermint. But I just got a great suggestion: I can put the peppermint patties in 3/4 of the pan and voila! I’ll have a quarter pan of delicious brownies for her, a magical brownie for Joe and almost three quarters of a pan for me!

Leave a Reply

